Last Hurrah: Potato Gnocchi

New Year’s Day we decided would be our final day of food splurging before we get back on track with eating paleo. I have found that I really like the paleo meals I’ve made so far and don’t even feel that I’m missing out but for this one last day of holiday gluttony I woke up with a craving for gnocchi. I had never made it before so I spent a while on Pinterest looking at different recipes and techniques. It seemed fairly straight forward so I combined the knowledge and began my work.

The basic recipe I used is:

  • 4 cups mashed potatoes
  • 2 eggs
  • 2+ cups flour

First I used my hand mixer to beat the mashed potatoes and make sure there weren’t any chunks of potatoes too large. Then I mixed all of the ingredients together, and added enough extra flour to be able to roll out the dough.


Next I cut the dough into smaller sections and rolled them into snakes.


The snakes are then cut into small pieces.


Now in order for the gnocchi to hold a sauce it needs ridges or dimples. There are 2 methods by hand, first is to push a finger in it to create a dimple, the second is to roll it along a fork to create the traditional ridges. I chose the fork method but I definitely think I will be investing in one of these soon: Gnocchi Board.
Once they are ready drop them into a pot of boiling salt water. When they are ready they will float to the top, it only takes about 1-2 minutes. I did mine in batches from each snake.


Once they were all done I made two different batches, the first was a creamy garlic-parmesan sauce to which I added some shrimp, spinach, and gnocchi.


The second batch I pan fried quickly in some butter, then added the juice of half a lemon, basil, and some leftover turkey.


I loved them both!

Anyways, back to paleo. I think I will try to make a paleo gnocchi when I’m in the mood again. We will see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

